About the EIGCA

The European Institute of Golf Course Architects (EIGCA) represents Europe’s most qualified golf course architects, who have trained, or completed substantial projects, in Europe. Everything the Institute and its members do is with the purpose of safeguarding the future of golf through the design and development of sustainable golf courses and playing facilities.

The Institute’s work to educate and train golf course architects to the highest level, raises the standard of golf course design. Members use their skill, knowledge and experience to help golf be enjoyed by all ages and abilities and are mindful of the need to create designs which are thought-provoking, fun and sensitive of time to play.

By designing facilities which maximise the use of available land and appeal to all golfers, regardless of age, gender or ability, EIGCA members have an important role in the popularity and playability of golf.

The EIGCA has almost 100 Members and candidates for membership based in 25 countries across three continents, supported by a network of industry partners.

Presidents of the European Institute of Golf Course Architects:

2023 - Caspar Grauballe
2021 - 2023 Tim Lobb
2019 - 2021 Christoph Staedler
2017 - 2019 Ross McMurray
2015 - 2017 Tom Mackenzie
2013 - 2015 Peter Fjallman
2011 - 2013 Rainer Preissmann
2009 - 2011 David Krause
2007 - 2009 Ken Moodie
2004 - 2007 Mark Adam
2002 - 2004 Peter Harradine
2001 - 2002 Simon Gidman
2000 - 2001 David Williams